Arbory School

A community of creative and confident learners Co-phobble kenjal dy ynseydee chrootagh as yarrooagh

Useful links to support learning across the curriculum:

Links to content can potentially contain advertisements or inappropriate content. Please check prior to your child accessing sites.


The following piece has a number of interactive, engaging activities for pupils, including a ‘virtual safari’: https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2020/apr/20/10-...


Please see the attached newsletters for children, 'Call of the Wild', from Curraghs Wildlife Park:

Call_of_the_Wild_Issue_1.pdf Call_of_the_Wild_issue_2.pdfCall_of_the_Wild_issue_three.pdf Call_of_the_Wild_Issue_Four.pdf Call_of_the_Wild_Issue_Five.pdf Call_of_the_Wild_Issue_Six.pdf

All Curriculum Areas:

Twinkl - www.twinkl.co.uk/offer - ideas, activities and worksheets from all areas of the curriculum. Use free access code - PARENTSTWINKLHELPS

Twig and TigTag Education - https://www.go.twigeducation.com/covid19-global - Free resources for students aged 4-16.

Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org/ - Free resources for children aged 2-18.

BBC Bitesize -https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize - Lots of free resources here with videos and quizzes, too.

Emile - https://www.emile-education.com/schools-corona-vir... - All resources made free during school closures.

Teacher's Pet - https://tpet.co.uk/latest-resources/ - Wide range of resources for primary pupils.

BBC Teach - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/319Xwwk3... - podcasts for ages 3 and up.


Museums, art galleries, theatres and places of interest:

The British Museum - https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-brit... - has made its online collections free to the public.

National History Museum - https://www.nhm.ac.uk/ - free virtual tours.

National Gallery virtual tour - https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/visiting/virtua... - view the latest exhibitions.

Wind In The Willows - https://www.willowsmusical.com/ - watch the stage production online.

The Vatican - http://www.museivaticani.va/content/museivaticani/... - The Vatican has opened up its digital tours so the Sistine Chapel can be viewed.

NASA Kids - https://www.nasa.gov/kidsclub/index.html - perfect for space fans. Learn all about the universe we live in by viewing these online videos.

Filmed Onstage - http://www.filmedonstage.com/ - filmed Broadway/West End musicals and plays to stream.


Science:

Woodland Trust - https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2020/03/kids... - creative ideas

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com - Science based video and resource bank and suggestions for hands on activities.

Science with Professor Brian Cox, Robin Ince & Guests - https://cosmicshambles.com/stayathome/upcoming-sch...

Explore - https://explore.org/livecams - look at nature all around the world.

Edinburgh Zoo live webcams - https://www.edinburghzoo.org.uk/webcams/panda-cam/


Creative Learning:

BrainPop - https://www.brainpop.com/ - BrainPop offers learning on topics across the curriculum for KS2. Each topic includes videos, quizzes, related reading, and even coding activities. They also offer BrainPop Jr., specially designed for KS1. Sign up for a free home account.

Scouts UK - https://www.scouts.org.uk/the-great-indoors - activities which can be done indoors.

Cooking with Jamie Oliver - https://www.jamieoliver.com/features/category/get-...

Home Economics with Theo Michaels (Mon/Wed/Fri) https://www.instagram.com/theocooks

Scavenger Hunt activity for all the family - Scavenger Hunt

Harry Potter At Home Hub - https://www.wizardingworld.com/collections/harry-p...


Fair Trade:

https://schools.fairtrade.org.uk/resource/?type=ho... - Fair Trade have some new features on their website to help children and parents with home learning!


Art Activities:

Many illustrators are offering online tutorials and ideas for art.

Rob Biddulph - http://www.robbiddulph.com/draw-with-rob

Jim Field - https://www.jimfield.me/draw

Mo Willems - https://www.kennedy-center.org/education/mo-willems/

Steven Lenton - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbpwB792UfmrY9JeQ2nk5Iw

If you have Instagram, try BeCreativeBowes - https://www.instagram.com/be_creative_bowes/ - lots of creative Art ideas from a primary school teacher.


P.E./Dance:

PE with Joe - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAxW1XT0iEJo0TYlRfn6rYQ - Online P.E. lesson with Joe Wicks (The Body Coach).

Diverse Dance Mix - https://www.facebook.com/DDMIXwithNicole/ - Diverse Dance Mix for Schools.


History:

Manx National Heritage - https://manxnationalheritage.im/learn/teaching-res... - Information for children about the various MNH sites on the Island.

Museum of the World - https://britishmuseum.withgoogle.com/ -

Puku B - Heritage and education - https://www.pukub.co.uk/kids/

History with Dan Snow (free for 30-days) - https://tv.historyhit.com/signup/package


ICT/Computing:

Purple Mash - https://2simple.com/purple-mash/ - (request free access). A good one to investigate, as Arbory have purchased this resource for use as soon as school resumes!

Coding for Kids - live (and archived) lessons each day.

Minecraft: The Education Edition - https://education.minecraft.net/ - is popular with children already – these resources all have an educational purpose.


DT:

Children's Dyson engineering design challenges: https://www.jamesdysonfoundation.co.uk/resources/challenge-cards.html?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-vLJyMGw6AIVC-R3Ch1YSwP7EAAYAiAAEgLy7_D_BwE

Dyson Challenge Cards: https://www.jamesdysonfoundation.co.uk/content/dam/pdf/JDF_with%20cover%20challenge-cards_DIGITAL.pdf?

Rocket Launcher: https://ioi.london/latest/new-video-make-your-own-paper-rocket-launcher/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgu6_68Gw6AIVjOd3Ch3lGAk5EAAYASAAEgJ_VfD_BwE


Geography:

National Geographic - Homeschooling - https://www.nationalgeographic.co.uk/history-and-civilisation/2020/03/homeschooling-tips-coronavirus-shutdown

Geography with Steve Backshall - https://twitter.com/SteveBackshall/status/12420588...


Music:

Music with Myleene Klass - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQh2wgJ5tOrixYBn6...

Quaver Music - https://www.quavermusic.com/info/at-home-resources... - free school closure activities for students learning at home.

Mrs Kinley's Home Learning ideas for piano players - Mrs Kinley's Piano activities

David Walliams' Marvellous Musical Podcast - a fun way to learn LOTS about music! https://www.classicfm.com/music-news/david-walliams-marvellous-musical-podcast/ to listen online, or subscribe to the podcast.



Language Learning:

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com/ - A free app for your phone for students to work on their language skills, or try a new language.

Memrise - https://www.memrise.com/ - Learn language through games and video clips on this online app.

Rosetta Stone - https://www.rosettastone.com/freeforstudents/ - For the school closure period, Rosetta Stone has given free access to its language learning resources.